Skip to:

Virginia Transparency Caucus Demands “Cameras in Committees” for New General Assembly Building



Virginia Transparency Caucus Demands

“Cameras in Committees”

for New General Assembly Building

Delegate Mark Levine and Senator Amanda Chase

Spearhead Bipartisan, Bicameral Effort to Record Proceedings and Votes

In the Committees and Subcommittees of the Virginia General Assembly


Richmond, VA — On February 24, 2017, the last day of the 2017 session, Delegate Mark Levine and Senator Amanda Chase, co-founders of the Virginia Transparency Caucus, submitted a letter signed by 85 Senators and Delegates in the Virginia General Assembly addressed to the Clerks of both the Virginia Senate and the House of Delegates. Both a majority of senators and a majority of delegates signed the letter requesting that “the new General Assembly Building (and, if possible, the interim Pocahontas Building) maintain full audio and visual recording capability, as well as transparent vote recording machines for all Committee and Subcommittee hearings rooms in both the Senate and the House of Delegates.”

“While the proceedings on the House Floor are fully televised and votes recorded, the vast majority of debates and decisions determining how bills are crafted occurs in Committee or Subcommittee. Indeed, more than half of all bills die there,” said Delegate Levine. “Constituents have a right to know how and why bills they support or oppose ultimately met their fate. These proceedings have long been open to the public but are far less accessible to our constituents, who rarely have a work or family schedule that allows them to head to Richmond on a moment’s notice to watch committee or subcommittee proceedings.”

“We are encouraging our colleagues to support this culture of increased transparency and accessibility of our constituents to their state government and elected representatives,” said Senator Chase. “By videoing subcommittees and committee meetings, constituents are better able to participate and inform themselves about the sometimes 'difficult to follow' path of bills going through the legislative process. With the new building, we need to also take steps to update our technology to the benefit of our constituents. I think this is a step in the right direction.”

More than 60% of the Virginia General Assembly signed the letter. A full list of signatories is printed below.


Delegate Lashrecse Aird

Delegate Mark Levine

Delegate Dave Albo

Delegate Joseph Lindsey

Delegate Richard Anderson

Delegate Scott Lingamfelter

Delegate Lamont Bagby

Senator Mamie Locke

Senator George Barker

Delegate Alfonso Lopez

Delegate John Bell

Delegate G. Manoli Loupassi

Delegate Richard Bell

Senator L. Louise Lucas

Senator Dick Black

Senator Dave Marsden

Delegate Jeff Bourne

Delegate Bob Marshall

Delegate Jennifer Boysko

Senator T. Montgomery Mason

Delegate David Bulova

Delegate James Massie

Delegate Betsy Carr

Senator Jennifer McClellan

Senator Charles Carrico

Senator Jeremy McPike

Senator Amanda Chase

Delegate Delores McQuinn

Delegate Ben Cline

Delegate J. Randall Minchew

Delegate Christopher Collins

Delegate Jason Miyares

Senator Rosalyn Dance

Delegate James Morefield

Delegate Glenn Davis

Delegate Mike Mullin

Senator Creigh Deeds

Delegate Kathleen Murphy

Senator Bill DeSteph

Senator Tommy Norment

Senator Adam Ebbin

Senator Mark Peake

Delegate James Edmunds

Senator J.C. Peterson

Delegate Peter Farrell

Delegate Kenneth Plum

Senator Barbara Favola

Delegate Brenda Pogge

Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn

Delegate Marcia Price

Delegate Buddy Fowler

Delegate Sam Rasoul

Delegate Nick Freitas

Senator Bryce Reeves

Delegate Cliff Hayes

Senator Frank Ruff

Delegate Christopher Head

Delegate Mark Sickles

Delegate Gordon Helsel

Delegate Marcus Simon

Delegate Steve Heretick

Senator Lionell Spruill

Delegate Charniele Herring

Senator Glen Sturtevant

Delegate Daun Hester

Senator David Suetterlein

Delegate Keith Hodges

Delegate Richard Sullivan

Delegate Rocky Holcomb

Senator Scott Surovell

Delegate Patrick Hope

Delegate David Toscano

Senator Janet Howell

Delegate Roslyn Tyler

Delegate Riley Ingram

Senator Jill Vogel

Delegate Matthew James

Delegate Jeion Ward

Delegate Mark Keam

Delegate Vivian Watts

Delegate Kaye Kory

Delegate Michael Webert

Delegate Paul Krizek

Senator Jennifer Wexton

Delegate James LeMunyon



Press Contacts:    

Delegate Mark Levine – (703)-599-6121

Senator Amanda Chase – (804)-698-7511